• Orange
  • Banana
  • Emerald
  • Chocolate
  • Charcoal
Sign in to follow this  
Balu

Cyber Security

Hi guys, I'm potentially looking at a job in Cyber Security. I have no background in Cyber Security, or IT/computers in general. My only real IT experience is day to day use and playing games. I am leaving the armed forces and have a chance to do a Cyber Security course. It sounds interesting but I'm not sure what it entails and if its something I would enjoy. Does anyone know much about this field or have any insight they could give?

I've read that its an ever growing industry with plenty of jobs. In doing these courses I would be qualified to get a job, but would i need a degree in this field to make some real money? Doing a degree would be a possibility. Any information would be great.

Thanks

Balu

Degrees are useful in the sense that they provide you with solid fundamentals and possibly more, depending on the course providing you make the most of your course, connections which are very important. If you feel you'll learn better in a more structured way by all means go take a comp sci degree w/ a security module. Do you need a degree? Definitely not, most of the best hackers I know don't have a degree, in fact many of them dropped out of high school, certifications and being active in the community (blogs, twitter, forums, IRC, etc) are much more important than degrees. One advantage of having a degree is that the degree is more structured so you wont have anywhere near as many knowledge gaps.

You didn't mention what part of security you want to specialize in, security is so big that it's improbable to be a true expert in more than one field, it's ever-evolving. Good security professionals are in HUGE demand right now and it's only going to go up.