• Sky
  • Watermelon
  • Strawberry
  • Orange
  • Banana
  • Emerald
  • Ankama Brown
  • Charcoal

Ensure you are aware of and follow your nation's guidance regarding coronavirus (COVID-19). Act responsibly and avoid unnecessary social interaction. Your actions may endanger the lives of those at risk. 

Sign in to follow this  
Sunbathe

Laptop broken, questions about buying!

I'll describe my situation as I'm looking for input and I do not have many tech savvy friends. I own a HP laptop that I have had for 3 years and it has multiple hardware problems and is unusable as of now. I've already replaced the hard drive, the screen now has an internal crack, the sound card is going, and it needs a new battery. I don't have insurance and I'm not looking to invest in a laptop with many problems.

With that being said, I am a student and have one more year of college. Starting next summer I will be working, which will involve international travel. I have always been interested in apple products. I only used/use a laptop for schoolwork and web browsing and now not really any gaming--so I don't need some top of the line machine to store 10,000 pictures or something. BUT I do like the aesthetics of apple products as well as the virus software and the overall feel of them. Most people I know who take care of them have them last for a while.

I'm not sure if I should just jump in and invest in a more expensive laptop or MacBook, or if I should just get something to tide me over for one last year of school and then invest in something after graduation. I have a few questions.

1. Would an iPad be good for using for the one year of school until I can afford a bigger purchase..? Just to write the occasional paper, web browse, and use for notes. I kind of like this idea because of the traveling too..

2. Would you recommend buying a used laptop on a website such as amazon or is there a lot of risk in that? Should I just buy it full price at best buy or a similar store?